Using Noty Folders

Using Noty Folders

Noty
for Project
Management

Noty.ai folders are collaboration spaces within your Noty.ai Workspace. You can create separate folders for various projects and teams. Add members to your folder and they will see all the conversations within this folder even if they didn’t participate. 

Additionally, Folders are a convenient tool to filter and manage your meeting transcripts.

In this article, we will explain how to create and manage folders to improve productivity and collaboration.

What are folders?

Use folders in Noty.ai for seamless collaboration and sharing of meeting transcripts. You can easily create unlimited folders and invite as many teammates as you need.

Types of folders

In Noty.ai workspaces, there are two folder types:

  • Private: For conversations you wish to retain personally.

  • Shared: For conversations you'd like to make accessible to others.

A transcript can be assigned to only one folder. If you move a transcript between folders, members may lose access to it unless they were part of the original meeting or conversation.

Folders users

In Noty.ai workspaces, user roles are defined as:

  • Members: Can add their meeting recordings to specific folders and access other recordings within that folder.

  • Admins: Have the same access rights as members but with additional privileges. They can add or remove members from a folder. 

By default, you are the Admin of the folders you create. If you designate someone as a Folder Admin, you can only remove them from the folder by removing them from your entire Workspace. 

It's important to differentiate between Folder Admins and Workspace Admins. A Folder Admin might just be a regular Workspace member, while a Workspace Admin could be just a standard Folder member.

Additional Information:

  • All Noty meeting transcripts initially have an 'Unassigned' status. You can later allocate them to specific folders.

  • Folders have no limit on the number of transcripts they can contain.

  • A single conversation can be designated to only one folder.

How to create and configure a Folder in Noty

There are two ways to create a Folder in Noty. 

1. Log in to Noty.ai. In the left-side navigation, go to Settings and then access the Folders tab:

Setting a primary workspace is important as all your conversation transcriptions will be stored there. If you need to store certain conversations in the workspace that is not your primary, you need to change the settings.

Important: For users on Pro plan, primary workspace is assigned by default. It's the paid workspace on your account.


Keep in mind that you need to change your primary workspace before the meeting that you want to store in another workspace. To assign a primary workspace, follow these steps:

1. As you sign in to the Noty.ai application, the primary workspace will open by default. In the left menu panel, click on your current workspace name. In the drop-down list, select the workspace that you want to make primary:

using folders
using folders
using folders

Click Create a folder

2. Alternatively, go to My Meetings, choose a meeting transcript with an Unclassified status and click the arrow to expand the drop-down menu:

how to set primary workspace
how to set primary workspace

Click + Create new folder.

Managing folders in Noty.ai

You can turn your folders into collaboration hubs where your folder members can access and collaborate on the folder’s content. 

When you create a new folder or modify an existing one, you have the following options:

  • Assign a new folder name

  • Pick a new color for your folder

  • Add new members (people who can access and manage folder content)

  • Assign new admins of the folder

Let’s take a look at how to manage these options.

Assigning a new color to the folder

To help navigation in your Workspace, you can assign a new color to your folders. Simply pick a meaningful color when you create a new folder.

To assign a new color to an existing folder, click the Edit icon in your Folders area:

using folders
using folders

Now, pick a new color for your existing folder and click Save Folder. The color will be updated.

Adding new members to the folder

You can add members to any folder by navigating to Settings > Folders, then clicking Edit icon and entering names of the people in your team in the Members field:

using folders
using folders

Once you are done adding members, click Save folder

Assigning new roles to members

After adding someone to a folder, you can designate their role. Everyone is initially a Member, but you can easily promote them to Admin.

To upgrade a member to Admin, click on the Member button and select Admin from the drop-down.

using folders
using folders

Remember to click Save folder to confirm changes.

Please note, this action is irreversible. To revoke the Admin role, you'd need to remove the user from the Workspace completely.

When adding multiple people at once, they'll all be given the Member role. If you prefer varying roles, adjust roles individually once they're in the folder. 

Important:

  • If your invitee is a member of your Workspace, they will be able to access the Folder and its content immediately.

  • If your invitee has a Noty.ai account but they aren’t a member of your Workspace, they will be automatically added to your Workspace. Your folder will appear in their list of Workspace folders.

  • If you invite someone without a Noty.ai account, they'll receive an email with a link. They must follow this link and sign up to fully join your folder and Workspace as a Member. You can then assign them an Admin role, if needed.

Deleting members from the folder

To delete the member from a folder, click on the Member next to their name and email. In the drop-down, click the red icon:

using folders
using folders

Click Save folder to confirm the changes. 

Deleting a folder

You may wish to delete a folder along with the content. To do this, click the Delete folder red button in the Update folder window:

using folders
using folders

You now have two options:

  • Delete all conversations 

  • Save conversations

If you choose to save conversations, they will appear in your Workspace with Uncategorized status. You can then relocate them to new or existing folders following our instructions above.

Important: Only users with folder Admin access roles can delete folders.

Please, note that the Folders feature is available for Noty Pro users only. You can view pricing and upgrade in your Noty account.

Testimonials

See what our users say about us

Robert Schmidt

Saves me 20 minutes after each Zoom meeting!

Since integrating Noty.ai with our Zoom meetings, the post-meeting workload has reduced significantly. The AI-generated summaries capture every essential detail, making follow-ups a breeze!

Robert T., Project Manager

Ready to start?

Try AI Workplace

Assistant Today!

Ready to start?

Try AI Workplace

Assistant Today!